Enjoy the Dark Seduction . . . with Cynthia Cooke

Cynthia Cooke is an award-winning, multi-published author who has published 11 books and short stories for Harlequin/Silhouette and Steeple Hill. Her latest book, Deadly Secrets, Loving Lies will be one of the launch books for Entangled Publishing‘s new Dead Sexy Romantic Suspense line. Cynthia is best known for writing page-turners that will keep you up at night.  So if you choose to take that ride, over the edge and into the dark, don’t forget to turn on the lights. Cynthia’s books aren’t sweet and they aren’t for the faint of heart.  Enjoy the Dark Seduction. 
To read more, please visit us over at Kiss and Thrill or click here:

SW: Welcome, Cynthia. We are so happy to have you here with us today. You are an award-winning, multi-published author with Harlequin/Silhouette. What made you decide to publish with Entangled?

CC: I’ve heard so many great things about Entangled, especially the author friendly contracts.  And the idea that I could write a book and have it published the same year was VERY enticing.
 

SW: Please tell me a bit about your new Entangled story Deadly Secrets, Loving Lies.

CC: After an all-out assault by a vicious terrorist bent on destroying her entire family, former government agent Genie Marsters must break the strict rules she has always lived by when she emerges from hiding to reluctantly accept the help of her all-too-sexy ex-lover.

Running a deadly race against time, they rush to rescue her kidnapped sister, find her missing father, and bring the notorious villain to justice. But nothing ever goes as planned. Bullets fly, danger abounds, and their passion reignites even faster than the lies are flowing. But stubbornly held secrets just might spell the end of their rekindled love and hopes for the future . . . as well as their very lives.

SW: It’s a great cover! Did you have any input in the design?

CC:  I did! I sent a bunch of shutterstock images and examples of covers I like And they worked that around the dead sexy brand. The cover is AMAZING!!!

 

SW: How fun! What is on your TBR pile?
CC: Oh, this is so huge. I’m one of those people who is reading several books at one time, and listening to audio books when I’m driving.  Right now, I’m loving Nevada Barr and J.T. Ellison.

SW: I love audiobooks as well. What is your next project?

CC: I have two Harlequin werewolf books coming out in 2014. Right now, I’m wrapping up revisions on my second book in my werewolf series, Lying With Wolves, for Harlequin Nocturne.

SW: What is your favorite type of hero? (dark, bad boy, vampire, etc)

CC: I’ve thought about this question for another blog. I really don’t have a favorite type. I love my dark and dangerous vampires, my tortured werewolves, my action-oriented no-nonsense cops. I guess I just love them all, especially if they love the heroines, especially if it’s the last thing they want to do.

SW: I know you still have teenagers around. Do you get much writing done during the summer?

CC: I do, but I also gain a lot of weight! LOL! With three teenagers at home and the constant revolving door of all their friends coming and going at all hours of the day and night, I have to leave the house and write in coffee shops. My favorite is Panera Bread, which means I eat out A LOT.

SW: Is there another genre you’d love to write?

CC: Yes, I’ve been working on a YA for the past couple of years in between contracts. I would really love to take the summer and finish writing it.

SW: Who does your website (it’s beautiful!)

CC: Thank you so much. That honor goes to Tivi Jones at Creative Media. She does so much more than websites now. She a digital marketing queen and has lots of tips on her blog. http://creativityloft.com/


SW: Will you write any more books for Entangled?

CC: I’d love to, though I’ve been too busy to submit a second proposal.

SW: Do you have an excerpt we can read?

CC: I do!

Kyle stared in disbelief at the odd, mushroom-shaped structure rising up from the cracked, dry earth of the Nevada desert.

“There she is,” the voice of Johnny Garino, his crew chief and closest friend, buzzed in his earpiece.

Genie stood on the roof of the strange house. Three black SUVs were corralled on the ground far below her. She looked incredible, breathtaking, silhouetted against the brilliant blue sky. Kyle sucked in a breath as she clipped a cable to her belt.

“She’s getting ready to fly!” Johnny called out, his voice rising in pitch.

“Hold on, baby. I’m almost there.” Kyle pushed down on the throttle urging the bird faster, even as he willed Genie to turn and see him, to hold on until he could sweep her away from the danger. And once he did, once he had her safe and secure in his cockpit, then what?

Then he’d try not to kill her himself.

Fantastic!! Thank you so much for spending the day with us, Cynthia

Leave a Reply

